Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Bollanda Pramila Aiyappa-Athlete

Bollanda Pramila Aiyappa a Kodava sportsperson was born on May 8, 1977, in Kodagu, an Indian heptathlon Queen Pramila made her official debut for the 2000 Summer Olympics in Sydney, where she placed twenty-fourth in the women’s heptathlon event.



Bollanda P Aiyappa


Bollanda Unnathi


  • At the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, Pramila made a comeback from her eight-year absence to compete for the second time in women’s heptathlon, along with her fellow athletes Shobha Javur and Susmita Singha Roy.
  • She initially placed twenty-eighth out of forty-three heptathletes in the event, with a total score of 5,771 points, but was elevated to a single higher position, when Ukraine’s Lyudmila Blonska stripped of her silver medal after she tested positive for methyltestosterone.
  • Pramila represented the host nation India at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, where she missed out of medal contention in the heptathlon, finishing only in fifth place, with a total score of 5,330 points.
  • Double Olympian Bollanda PramilaAiyappa, had finished fifth in the Commonwealth Games held in New Delhi recently.
  • She was the first Kodava athlete to win an individual medal at the Asian Games
  • Winner of several awards at the State and the national level, Ms.Aiyappa said her favourite events in heptathlon were long jump and high jump. It had given her more points when it came ultimately to overall points count in the heptathlon. Her best was 6,105 points and the Sydney Olympic trials in 2000.


Asian Championship

  1. Heptathlon    2nd Place  Jakarta   – 2000
  2. Long Jump    5th  Place  Jakarta    – 2000
  3. Heptathlon     5th Place  Manila     – 2003

Asian Games

  1. Heptathlon    3rd  Place  Jakarta   – 2010

Common Wealth Games

  1. Heptathlon    5th  Place   New Delhi  – 2010

National Championship

  1. Long Jump    1st  Place  Chennai- 2000
  2. Long Jump    1st Place   Chennai- 2001
  3. Long Jump    1st Place  Mumbai – 2004
  4. Heptathlon    1st Place  Bhopal- 2009