Chat with us, powered by LiveChat


In the History of Kodava during British rule, Coorgs entered politics, government service, education, and law. Under British protection, Kodagu became a State with nominal independence. The British recognised the exceptional martial abilities of the Kodavas and used them in their army.

 In the History of Kodava, many Kodavas fought in the two World Wars. They earned a reputation as able commanders and brave fighters, both under the British rule as well as post-independent India in all wings of defence. Eventually, famous sons of Kodagu became prominent members of the armed forces of India. General K.S. Thimayya DSO and Field Marshal K.M. Cariappa OBE are among the notables along with many other top officers. Dewan Bahadur Ketolira Chengappa was the last Chief Commissioner of Coorg in 1947. In 1950 Coorg was recognised as one of 27 different states of the Indian Union but in 1956 the state of Coorg was merged into Mysore (now Karnataka).

Okka Parije If in a family there is only one unmarried girl and no heir, the girl is married according to „okka parije’ by which the children of the marriage become members of their mother‟s… read more »

About the Okka Uddapanda okka first came to kavadi and lived in a house near motte maavu (a mango tree on a hill) in a koppa. Later they built an ainmane and moved there. The… read more »

Areas under ulsoor kodava sangha Appareddy Palya Cambridge Layout Jogu Palya Kamaraj Road Lakshimipura G Road Part Motappana Layout Murphy Town Someshwarapuram Ulsoor Ulsoor Lake Past Presidents Present Committe President : Gowdanda U Poovaiah Secretary… read more »

Uluvangada Cauvery Udaya   Uluvangada Cauvery Udaya is a multilingual poet, chathurbasha literature and also an artist and housewife. She, a kodava author  writes under the name of Uluvangada Cauvery Udaya    Family  Father  Changulanda.C…. read more »

United Kodava Organisation (UKO), an organisation aimed at protecting the interests of the Kodava people and people of Kodagu in the social, political and cultural fields. The unique Kodava community which had carved out a… read more »

Areas under Varthur  Kodava Sangha AECS Layout BEML Layout Byrasandra village Chinnappanahalli Devara Beesanahally Doddanekundi Kadu Beesanahally Kundalalhalli Marathalli Munenakolalu Varthur

A list of Kodava Veterinary doctors since Independence is listed as follows Page Composed by Dr Ajjinikanda Vasu Ganapathy  By Seniority Dr Anjaparuvanda Muthappa.  Dr Ajjamada Bopaiah. Dr Apparanda Aiyappa.  Dr Ajjamada B Beliappa.  Dr… read more »

Sri Igguthappa Kodava Kshemabivruddi Sangha, Vidyarnyapura, Bangalore Areas under Vidyaranyapura Kodava Sangha Chikka Bettahalli Dodda Bomasandra HMT Factory Quarters Jalahalli East Nagaland Nagaland Circle Singapura Layout Thindlu Vidyaranyapura Past Presidents Mookonda C Ramesh Present Committe President… read more »

1 40 41 42 43