Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Kodagu District

Kodagu is a small district comprising of 3 taluks and have a population of around 5,54,519( as per 2011 census).Kodagu is located on the eastern slopes of the Western Ghats.The district is divided into the three administrative talukas: Madikeri, Virajpet and Somwarpet.The principal town, and district capital, is Madikeri, or Mercara, with a population of around 30,000. Other significant towns include Virajpet (Virarajendrapet), Kushalanagara, Somwarpet and Gonikoppal.

General Profile

Geographical area :4102 sq. km

No. Of Revenue Blocks: 3

No. Of Gram Panchayats:97

No. Of Assembly seats: 2

No. Of Villages: 303


The average rain fall is about 2725.5 mm. Rain fall is more in the months of June, July and August.

Physical feature

Kodagu is a hilly area. Madikeri, the district Head Quarters is above 1270 meters from the sea level.  Its physical features are full of diversity. It has valleys, plains, lush green forest, paddy fields, coffee and cardamom plantations. It is called the “Kashmir of south India and Switzerland of India”. It is known for its scenic beauty and attracts tourists in large numbers. River Cauvery originates from Kodagu.


The Kodavas were the earliest inhabitants and agriculturists in Kodagu, having lived there for centuries. Being a warrior community as well, they carried arms during times of war and had their own chieftains. The Haleri dynasty, an offshoot of the Keladi Nayakas, ruled Kodagu between 1600 and 1834. Later the British ruled Kodagu from 1834, after the Coorg War, until India’s independence in 1947. A separate state (called Coorg State) until then, in 1956 Kodagu was merged with the Mysore State (now Karnataka).